Hi, I'm Rosie

I am dyslexic, (undiagnosed) ADHD and a creative travel lover.

I started travelling from a young age with family trips around Europe and further afield.

Since then I have been hooked. I've travelled to around 35 countries and absolutely love experiencing somewhere new with fresh eyes.

I have also always been the creative type, studying Textiles (knitting, printing, weaving & embroidery) at University.

But I also love photography, illustration and graphic design.

I love creating. Whether it's taking photographs of boutique hotels, creating Instagram carousels for small brands, creating reels from my travels or drawing illustrations of my favourite destinations.

I also have a YouTube Channel where I document my travels. It's another outlet for my creativity and I love the freedom.

My dream is to have 2 rooms in my future dream home dedicated to the different sides of me. I'd love one to be white, serene, calm and minimalistic with only a yoga mat, a couple of props and yoga books. A place I can unwind, do yoga and meditate.

Then the 2nd room needs to be the exact opposite. Colourful, maximalist, bright, fun, messy and a place where I can really express myself. Where I can paint, sew, draw, make jewellery & candles, print, and any other creative outlets I find between now and then.

Rosie Andre

Rosie Andre-2

Whatsapp: +33 6 32 34 51 58

Email: contact@rosieandre.com

Let's work together!

Please enter your name.
Please enter a subject.
Please enter a message.

timeline of my life

April 15th 1988 - I was born in Lancaster, England and grew up in a very loving home with both parents and 2 brothers. I spent my childhood playing outside, going up to The Lake District, holidays at Center Parcs, going on family holidays around Europe and generally having a lot of fun.

 

September 2007 - I went to Manchester Metropolitan University to study Textiles. I didn't know what to focus on as I loved so many aspects of art including photography, fashion, interior design, drawing etc. But decided to go with Textiles. I learned how to sew, knit, embroider and screen print. I also found out I have Dyslexia. It was a big moment for me as I've always felt stupid for struggling to read, retaining information, remembering long numbers, always being late etc. It was a real moment of "Ok, I'm not stupid, my brain just works differently". I also went surfing a couple of times with the surf club. As a student I also worked random jobs like bar staff at a music festival, I worked behind a bar of a club in Manchester, I worked in a chocolate shop, in Subway making sandwiches and other shitty jobs.

 

Summer 2009 - I went on a 6 week inter-rail adventure around Europe with some friends. We saw Oasis' last concert in Benicassim festival, then went to Barcelona, Paris, Budapest, Bratislava, Ljubljana, Prague, Vienna, Milan, Zurich, Amsterdam(?), somewhere in Germany (maybe?) and some more cities that I honestly can't remember! It was my first experience of travel away from my family and I loved the freedom.

Rosie Andre
Rosie Andre

January 2010 - I took a gap year from University to travel. I went to Fiji for a 10 week scuba diving expedition, living on a beach with very basic food & amenities. I then went to Sydney, Australia for 2 weeks, travelled around New Zealand for 2 weeks. Then went back to Sydney for a 10 week internship with a fashion company which is where I met my now husband. After my 10 weeks in Sydney, I then went to New York for a week and my family met me there. This was my first BIG adventure on my own and I was only 21. I have no idea how I did it and how I was so brave! I'm so proud of 21 year old me for doing that!

 

September 2011 - I had finished my final year of Textiles and got a 2:1. I moved to Paris to be with Jeremie, my lovely French boyfriend. We lived just outside of Paris for 1 year for me to "learn French" which I still don't speak fluently! I worked a couple of random jobs (telesales, teaching English to kids) but I mostly spent my days looking around art galleries, wandering the streets of Paris and finding ways to be creative. I made a couple of dresses which I wore and loved.

 

September 2012 - we moved to Aix en Provence because my husband is from the south of France and Paris was too rainy for him! We soon bought an apartment, got married in May 2015 and were ticking off all the boxes of what society expected of me. I also had a full time job at Subway (which I kept for 3.5 years and hated. The only reason I got the job was because I had already worked in Subway in the UK so knew the recipes but I didn't speak a word of French).

Sometime in 2016 - I started a photography business called Provence Photography where I would take couples & families around Provence and take portraits for them. It was the start of my entrepreneurial journey. 2016 was also the year we went to Indonesia for 3 weeks for our honeymoon and I went to Austria to visit my brother and go skiing for the first time since I was 15.

 

May 2017 - I had a miscarriage at 5 weeks pregnant in August 2016, got pregnant again pretty quickly and in May 2017 (at 26 weeks pregnant) I had to have an abortion due to medical issues with the baby. He had a rare genetic disorder called Ellis Van Creveld and this event changed my life forever. I was depressed for months, barely got out of bed, was suicidal and didn't see the point in living.

 

December 2017 - we had the opportunity to move to Miami for my husband's work. We decided we would go for a year and see how it goes. And we haven't moved back to Europe since! We fell in love with Miami and really embraced personal development, yoga, mindfulness, wellness, community and healthy living. We ended up staying 3 and a half years, living by the beach and truly loving life. We grieved, processed and moved on with our lives. At some point in 2018, I decided to start a YouTube channel. My videos were rubbish but I enjoyed it. Someone mocked me once, and I stopped for 2 whole years.

Rosie Andre
Rosie Andre

2018 - I was still doing my photography and spent the whole of 2018 doing anything and everything I could get my hands into. I did weddings, birthdays, engagements, maternity, babies, events, yoga, bachelorette parties. I did it ALL. I wanted to test everything so I could figure out what my "thing" was with photography.

 

2019 - 2021 - I wanted to focus on maternity & baby photography, so bought a whole home studio. At the same time we started dog boarding, so I tested the lighting on the dogs we looked after on the owners loved the images. One thing led to another, and soon Portraits of Poochies was born. A dog photography company based in Miami, Florida. After several months & lots of photoshoots, we started doing photoshoots for all occasions including birthday, Christmas, Easter, 4th July, Thanksgiving, Fall, Halloween. It was so much fun. We also set up monthly dog meet up events with other vendors in breweries in Miami and the events were called Pints and Poochies. It turned into a whole thing. And I bloody loved it!

 

The Pandemic - The pandemic was somewhat easy but also somewhat hard. In November 2019 I had a miscarriage at 8 weeks whilst in Cuba. I got pregnant again in early 2020 and then the pandemic hit. At 11 weeks pregnant, I found out I was having a missed miscarriage as the baby was only measuring 6 weeks. My 4th pregnancy loss in 5 years. In January 2020, I also decided to start YouTube again and decided that someone laughing at me wasn't going to stop me from doing what I loved. In the Pandemic, I also started painting to express some of my creativity and a good friend in Paris bought one, which I sent to him via UPS and I was so happy and proud of myself!

May 2021 - We left Miami and had some family issues go on at home. I won't talk about what happened but it meant that we spent the 2nd half of 2021 in Europe with family. In November 2021, we went to Peru to start backpacking around South America for a year. 7 weeks later, my dad was unwell so I came home to be with family.

 

January 2022 - My dad had a seizure whilst I was at home, he spent 2 months in hospital then 2 months in rehab to learn how to talk and eat again. Then in the summer, I decided I wanted to do IVF or egg freezing or embryo freezing. Something. I did some research and went ahead with embryo freezing. Due to my age, lack of eggs collected and the EVC condition both my husband and I carry, we ended up with 1 embryo. This took us all the way up until November 2022.

 

December 2022 to November 2023 - We set off for a year of backpacking around South East Asia and had THE BEST YEAR EVER! We had a whole 11 months of backpacking fun. We went to Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, Australia, Sri Lanka, India, Malaysia & Bali in Indonesia. We honestly were living our best lives. We worked while we travelled and had the best experiences. This experience proved to us that we can work & travel, we can live anywhere and we can make our dreams come true! Whilst in India, I bought an iPad to be able to draw and express some of my creativity that I sometimes struggle to do whilst travelling.

Rosie Andre
Rosie Andre

November 2023 - We flew home because my Grandma was ill and unfortunately she passed away. So we stayed home for Christmas and to spend time with family.

 

January 2024 - We went off travelling again. We went to Miami to see friends, then spent 4.5 months in Mexico travelling through the country from Cancun to Tulum, Valladolid, Merida, Campeche, Palenque, San Cristobal de las Casas, Oaxaca, Puebla, Mexico City, San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Guadalajara, Sayuita & Puerto Vallarta. We had apprehensions about visiting Mexico but absolutely loved it! It's such a beautiful country with lovely people, good food and so much culture! 2024 is also when I started drawing on my iPad again and love it! I even printed some out onto A1 paper to go in my parent's home and I love them so much! They're available now to purchase here.

 

May 2024 - It's currently May and we are planning on doing Costa Rica for a month or so, then going back to Asia to spend 5 months WORKING! We both have a lot going on work wise and it seems like the right time to "settle down" somewhat and stay in 1 place to find some sort of routine and spend more time working on our projects. We are currently thinking we might go back to Bangkok & somewhere in Malaysia for the 2nd half of the year before heading home for Christmas.

As you can see, I have worked, travelled and been creative all my life. It's the only constants (along with family and a few close friends). I love to visit new places, get to know the culture, the people and the food. I have also worked lots of jobs. Most of which I hated. I am now fortunate enough to do work that I truly enjoy. I work on my YouTube channel which is my main focus, but I also work with a couple of different clients on social media work (either creating content, editing content, managing content or sourcing content to share). It means I have the ability to travel and work at the same time which has been a dream of mine for years.

 

I feel so lucky that my main worries in life are "what should I have for dinner?" and "where should we go next week?". I have worked hard to cultivate this lifestyle for myself and I still have a long way to go before I feel "financially free" as they say. But for now, Rosie from 10 years ago can't believe that I get to live this life. 26 year old Rosie felt lost, unsure of the future and like she wasn't doing enough in life. Little did I know that all the things I was doing, were laying the foundations for me now. And for that, I am so grateful.

 

If you want to know more, you can follow me on YouTube & Instagram to see what happens next..